girl crushes.

Girl crushes are totally different from the ones I have on men…sometimes there all it takes is a certain physical attraction but I think girls are generally tougher on each other and go for women who have qualities they aspire to or like about themselves. Just a theory.

1. Mia Kirshner

Best known as playing the troubled aspiring writer (hmmm…) on The L Word, Mia Kirshner is a total knockout. I remember being blown away by her monologue divvying her body out into organs and parts. I was devastated when she cut her hair but she pulled off the boyish pixie cut nonetheless.

2. Lady Gaga

Needs no explanation. She’s just fucking hot. I am in complete awe of her.

3. Evan Rachel Wood

Anyone who can captivate the attention of Marilyn Manson can captivate mine. I love her in Across the Universe and of course the movie Thirteen, but have been watching other films featuring her (including Down in the Valley across Edward Norton…great film). She’s poised, talented, and incredibly gorgeous.

4. Zooey Deschanel

Zooey is quirky, but that’s what we love about her. From her hit 500 Days of Summer to lesser known films like Flakes and All The Real Girls, Zooey rules. Her music (folk duo She & Him) is really good, too. (Note: I am not a Katy Perry fan. These two get compared all the time and Katy is definitely not my style.)

5. Kirsten Dunst

I have loved KD forever. I remember her from the Jumanji days and reading a spread about her in Seventeen when I was probably only thirteen. She pretty much always looks the same, cherubic, dimpled, adorable. I make it a point to watch as many of her movies as possible. The Virgin Suicides is amazing, but Elizabethtown is by far my favorite Kirsten flick.

6. Sienna Miller

Oh, Sienna. She has unquestionable street style, but what is so intriguing about Sienna is her versatility. She can do a pin-up look one minute and then be boho chic the next. As someone who hates being pigeonholed into style stereotypes myself, Sienna is a great example of being adaptable with her look. Favorite Sienna performance? As Edie Sedgwick in Factory Girl, followed closely by her role in Alfie (across from ex-flame Jude Law).

7. [The Late] Brittany Murphy

I’ve been a BM fan since she was Clueless (remember Tai?). She always did well at playing the troubled girl, which is sadly ironic considering her tragic early departure from this world. Brittany was not a classic beauty, but she was gorgeous in her own right. Her best roles? Girl, Interrupted, Spun and The Dead Girl.

One thought on “girl crushes.

Leave a Reply

