we ♥ Fiona Apple

Underrated and not forgotten. Nothing drags me out of (or deeper into; when I need to be) a sullen, somber, girl-angst mood like Fiona Apple’s music.


Undoubtedly talented as a pianist, singer, and songwriter, fearlessly agressive yet somehow soft and vulnerable, Apple deftly embodies and expresses so much of what a young twentysomething would go through. Attractive yet imperfect; she confesses to only owning two bras, and during an interview she’s worn a blue quartz pendant, admittedly to cover a blemish on her chest. She’s so specific, but that’s what I like. Fuck the mainstream; it’s about the music, and further beyond that, it’s about the feelings and moods that inspired the lyrics that become the music.

Perhaps this quote from a September 2005 Rolling Stone article sums it up best:

It’s a realization that echoes Apple’s increasing awareness that you don’t have to be miserable to be idealistic. “When I was younger . . .” she begins, her eyes searching the room as she indulges in a pause long enough to be slightly awkward. “How do I put this? I had troubles. I don’t think I was actually idealistic then. I think I was absolutely wrapped up in being exactly the person who did this and did not do that. I had rules about everything, and I think my reasoning behind a lot of it was a little bit kooky. I was afraid of somebody stopping to love me, and I was afraid of making a fool of myself in public, and I was afraid of being misunderstood — that was a big one — and I convinced myself that by living a certain way I was somehow protecting myself. But once all those things happen anyway, and they’re terrible, and you’re not fine for a while, but then you’re fine, you actually come to a place where you like your life. And it makes you go, ‘Oh, wow, I’m really kind of proud of myself. I have some good stories, and I look back and I like what I’ve done with my life. I like the furniture that I’ve chosen.’ When that happens, you can play a little bit more and you can be looser and not worry about falling down so much because you know that, whatever happens, you’re going to be OK.”

Leave a Reply

