goodbye, Lost

I meant to blog this a few days ago to be more timely. So Sunday night was the finale of ABC’s Lost, one of the most amazing series ever on television.

https://i0.wp.com/www.bluebrain.net/wp-content/uploads/2009/07/Lost.jpg

I personally only started watching Lost during the fall of last year (per my boyfriend’s strong recommendation) and was instantly hooked. So much so that from late September until early April I hungrily tore through all 5 of the past seasons and the first few episodes of season 6 so I could catch up and (work schedule finally permuting) join Josh on Tuesday nights for collaborative cooking and watching Lost as a group with his friends and roommates. Granted, this awesome ritual didn’t last long but I so appreciated the thrill of fresh Lost weekly as it came. Regardless of the format, I took it all in and became obsessed with all things Lost.

On somewhat of a side note, I came across these photos of Matthew Fox and Evangeline Lilly (Jack Shephard and Kate Austen) and I just love them. So perfect, and finally together in the end.





We said farewell on Sunday, May 23rd with a group viewing at one of Josh’s friend’s houses. We all watched, riveted to the story. I’m pretty sure that there wasn’t a dry eye in the house by the final frames–and this was a group of big tough men, plus me, the only girl. I won’t write a recap, but I do recommend reading this post if you’d like one. I was struck by the care with which the writers wrapped up the loose ends. The writers did well with balancing humor and sentiment and staying true to the story. The “flash sideways” dual storyline was a brilliant way to connect the characters in their afterlife. It was realistic enough to engage and dreamy enough to lead into a peaceful and fitting way to end the series. We get to see all the core characters move on. This show was so epic and amazing, so deep and dynamic. I will so miss Kate, Jack, Sawyer, Hurley, Locke, Desmond…all of them. There will never be a show like it again. (DVD release in August!)

Long live Lost.

https://i0.wp.com/2.bp.blogspot.com/_UGApMiVMVR0/SbcQl3tFp9I/AAAAAAAAAMY/mfIyn5QSXIQ/s400/dharma%2Binitiative.jpg

One thought on “goodbye, Lost

Leave a Reply

