Rivane Neuenschwander: A Day Like Any Other


Above: Snapshot from I Wish Your Wish, 2003.

I stumbled across this post on The New York Times’ website. Brazilian artist Rivane Neuenschwander is doing another “ribbon” exhibition. Her first exhibition was done in 2003 and was all in Portugese. The concept is simple: Colorful silk ribbons hung en masse on a wall, stamped with the wishes of past visitors. New visitors can take a wish ribbon to wear on their wrists in exchange for writing down a new wish which could be perhaps used in a future exhibition. This work of art is based on a tradition which occurs in a Brazilian church; according to the tradition, when the ribbon falls off, the wish will be fulfilled. The exhibition will be on display June 23 – September 19 at New York City’s New Museum.

Wishes include: “I wish democracy was real,” “I wish it was benign,” “I wish for a job I love,” “I wish for more time with my boyfriend,” “I wish Obama to be re-elected,” “I wish for peace in Afghanistan…” and so on. What would you wish for, if you could declare it on one among many ribbons for all to see?

I also discovered some of her abstract thought bubbles via ffffound and and MoMA, which I think are just so cool in their simplicity.

3 thoughts on “Rivane Neuenschwander: A Day Like Any Other

  1. Hm I have never heard of this. How cool! Oh boy, I have a long list of things I would wish for.

    I wish people would learn patience.

    That would have to be the one I am wishing the most lately.

    • That’s a good one. I guess I would wish for myself to be more patient, for sure. It’s a difficult thing.

      By the way, you can go onto the New Museum’s website and submit your wish. 🙂

Leave a Reply

