Eat, Pray, Love: the movie [trailer]

Eat, Pray, LoveI am wildly excited for this. I love when I can see a trailer for a movie I’m excited about in the theaters for the first time, which is what happened last Sunday when I went to see Sex and the City 2 (big thumbs down). I knew a movie version of Elizabeth Gilbert’s amazing true story was coming out, but when I saw that Julia Roberts was playing the (very ambitious) lead role my heart  fluttered. Who else could possibly be more perfect? Women everywhere clamor(ed) over this book and there’s a reason it was a New York Times bestseller for as long as it was: It’s an incredible book. It’s a spiritual travelogue that any woman who has felt lost in relationships (not just within them, but in the habit of being in them) and constantly probed for a deeper meaning in their lives will resonate with. “One woman’s search for everything.” It was one of several important books that profoundly healed me during the most traumatic breakup of my life to date over a year ago, and I can honestly say it changed my life. Originally a library book, I bought it immediately and took pleasure in the battering my paperback copy received from being borrowed and toted by friends soaking up its wisdom. Liz Gilbert is funny and heart-crushingly raw and honest. The book, in its three parts (Eat: Italy; Pray: India; Love: Indonesia) perfectly rounds a journey of insightful healing and unimaginable adventure that most of us aren’t lucky enough to experience firsthand. Gilbert is such a talented writer, you feel there; or at least I did.

The trailer left me breathless. I am always excited to see movies based on books I’ve read. Of course, it is generally true that “the book is better than the movie,” but I am thrilled to see Julia Roberts as Gilbert. Even in the trailer my belly does flip-flops. I. Can. So. Relate. I feel like no one else could take on such an ambitious role and honor it with grace (remember Erin Brockovich?) as Julia herself. My expectations are high.

Eat, Pray, Love is slated to hit US theaters August 13, 2010 (the day before my 25th birthday)!

P.S. This is my 100th post on this blog! Hooray 😀

One thought on “Eat, Pray, Love: the movie [trailer]

Leave a Reply

