running for my life

So anyone who reads my blog or knows me will also know that mental health and spirituality are my top priorities in life. I believe that happiness and inner peace can only occur when the mind is sound. I meditate, I do affirmations, I select my thoughts, I listen to lectures, I’m constantly learning and striving to live a life rich with self-love. I still have a long way to go on my journey to a healthier mental place, but I’m well in the habit of training myself away from fearful ego-based thoughts and tuning into my “~ing” as dubbed by my teacher/guru Gabrielle Bernstein. But something I’ve been neglecting for too long is my physical body. I’m far from overweight (although I do say “I’m fat” quite a lot, as most other women can probably relate to) but at 5’2″ and 125 pounds  (posting my weight on the internet, how brave am I?!) I’m certainly the heaviest and largest I’ve ever been. My job is pretty sedentary and that’s hard to control.

I’ve recently started going back to the gym, which I used to avoid like the plague. I still don’t really “like” going, but — I have never, ever regretted a workout. I also run outdoors when time/weather/daylight permits and I love love love the high of running outside, of not obsessing over time and numbers but rather pushing myself to “the next stop sign” or “one more lap around the track.” I push myself harder. I just finished my first consecutive day of running and my legs are sore and tired, but I feel amazing. There are oodles of fitness/health/weight loss blogs out there, but I guess I feel like putting my own journey in the mix, too. Everyone’s experiences are different, and I’m doing this not just to slim down, but also to honor myself. Taking care of one’s body is a spiritual experience in itself. I find my zen in moments of solitude; I work out my aggression/frustration in the healthiest possible way. Not only am I ramping up my physical activity but also I’m trying to eat better/cleaner. Giving up Dorito’s and Gifford’s ice cream probably won’t happen, but incorporating more vegetables (which I already love) and plant-based protein in my diet can only help in the process.

Know who motivates me to get my fitness on? My girl, Jennifer Aniston. I’ve loved her since forever. I mean, she’s the quintessential girl next door: fresh, genuine, perky. And she has the. Best. Body. Ever.


I seriously doubt this will be the last of my Jenspiration.

Healthy habits can be hard to make, and breaking unhealthy ones can be even harder. I’m not looking to go crazy and drop a bunch of weight, only to make “little right actions” for a greater purpose. If I can’t run for that long, I don’t beat myself up about it. For now, some is better than nothing and I’m trying to do a little bit every day. If I skip a day once in awhile, I won’t get all crazy, I’ll forgive myself and start again the next day. I feel powerful when I run. Free. Focused. Strong.

This video from Nike inspires me. I used to think people in the commercials are so hardcore. Maybe they still are, but this will totally make you want to hit the pavement.

Please feel free to share with me your own fitness/wellness stories and goals.

Leave a Reply

