in the absence of sleep


“No two skins with the same texture, and never the same light, temperature, shadows, never the same gesture; for a lover, when he is aroused by true love, can run the gamut of centuries of love lore. What a range, what changes of age, what variations of maturity and innocence, perversity and art…”

– From Delta of Venus by Anais Nin – who I’m just now discovering; devouring.


-Isobel Thrilling

Bleary eyed
and sleepy still
I unwrapped you
of the morning
like careful fruit
with forbidden flesh
made sweeter by the scorning

My hands still shaky
from kisses sweet
and the dark hours
of night’s embrace
I checked to see
if fastened vines
my heart had left
in silv’ry trace

While you slept
I looked inside your chest
to see what was there
was growing
I saw my heart
with quiet eyes
was gently sewing (x2)

-Jewel

You are the trip I did not take, you are the pearls I could not buy,
you are my blue Italian lake, you are my piece of foreign sky.

You are my Honolulu moon, you are the book I did not write,
you are my heart’s unuttered tune, you are a candle in my night.

– from “To My Child” by Anne Campbell

Leave a Reply

