I have no time.

buddhatime

I don’t know if it’s just the hubbub of moving, being in school, and working full time or what—but I seriously have NO time these days. Weekends are spent doing laundry, grocery shopping or miscellaneous apartment-related tasks; most weeknights I’m in school till 8 or at work till 7, and/or bf has to work till 9 or 10. Very seldom do I get to just chill out and unwind. By the time I get home it’s dark out and time to get ready for bed. I know I’m not alone in lamenting the lack of time in my busy, modern life, but it’s getting to the point where I feel tapped out. Short-term solution? Take a personal day or two, a vacation once I can save up the time (again—time—it’s so valuable and rare)! But over the long-term, what can we do to expand time so that we get to do MORE of the things we REALLY want to do?

I haven’t been to the beach yet this year. I haven’t taken a single walk in my new neighborhood yet. I want to go horseback riding this summer. K and I have a movie list a mile long and we haven’t watched a movie in I can’t tell you HOW long. (Granted, we do play some video games and watch important shows like Game of Thrones.) His family owns a boat and we haven’t been out on that yet. There are SO many things that there just doesn’t seem to be time for, that always get pushed to the back burner. I need my job, obviously, and I’m only taking one college course at a time for now. School is a priority and I shouldn’t resent it, but I do in a way, because it robs me of my free time. I’m so bitter about the timesuck of work, and all day as I answer the phone I think about all of the things I would do, could be doing, if only I wasn’t stuck at work. Then when I get out it’s task time—cleaning, making meals, getting ready for the next day of the very same grind. Oh my god, is this what being a grown up really is?

I thought that when I lived with my boyfriend and no longer needed to carve out “boyfriend time,” we would have more time together, and it would be easier to squeeze in schoolwork and other things as needed. It isn’t, really. If anything the days seem to be rushing past even quicker. Even though I see bf every night, when I come home to him it feels like it’s been centuries since I’ve done so much in between. I honestly don’t know how people with kids do it. It’s SO hard.
Guru/spiritual writer Gabrielle Bernstein made this video awhile back, and I’ve found it helpful to refer to in times of stress–she encourages us to turn inward to inspire us to get through our days more easily and energetically. Things to keep in mind…

Do you struggle with feeling like you don’t have enough time? What are your tips for “expanding” time? How do you carve out time to spend with your family, friends and loved ones, and still get everything done? Leave a comment and let me know! xo

5 thoughts on “I have no time.

  1. Oh god, this past semester was total hell for me! I felt so rushed and overwhelmed all the time that it felt like I didn’t have time to be me anymore. On top of doing my internship, I was also a full-time grad student. I didn’t visit my family for almost 5 months. My boyfriend and I rarely went out and did fun things. I quickly felt burnt-out with everything. I held myself together pretty well, but I remember one day there were clothes strewn around my room, and I just lost it for a minute and started throwing clothes everywhere and cried. I’m on my summer break right now and am trying to be as lazy as possible since it might be my last free summer. I wish I knew the secret on how to expand time. Also had no idea that growing up was going to be so shitty! In my opinion, I think it’s the combination of being a student and working/interning at the same time that is so hard on us.

      • My internship is at an agency that provides substance abuse & mental health treatment to adults. I’m basically learning how to become a therapist. Next semester will involve more responsibilities. Not sure if I’m more excited or more worried about all the stress coming my way in a couple months.

Leave a Reply

